Skip to content

Shining Tears x Wind and The Shining Game Series; Mao

February 4, 2009

When I was at Mokuri the other day I saw a lovely nekomimi figure, Mao from the game Shining Wind.  I normally only buy figure of character I know, and that is why I decided to leave Mao at the shop for a few more days till I’m with my research on her.  While researching I found out that she is from the Shining game series, and from the anime Shining Tears x Wind which is base on the gamed Shining Tears, and Shining Wind.  Since I’m short on cash lately I can’t buy the game, so I watched the anime instead and fell deeply in love with it.

My favor character is of course Mao since I LOVE nekomimi girls.

Her clothes are different in Shining Tears (by the way, Tears is the first game and Wind is the second)

Here is more picture of her since I’m obsess with her.

The anime Shining Tears x Wind was a bit short (13 episode), but it was great.  The story move really fast and they get straight to the point, which is one of the reason why I like it so much.

Shining Tears X Wind (シャイニング・ティアーズ・クロス・ウィンド Shainingu Tiāzu Kurosu Windo) is an anime based on the PlayStation 2 games Shining Tears and Shining Wind. Shining Tears X Wind presents us an adapted version of the Shining Wind’s story, seen through Souma’s perspective. It is directed by Hiroshi Watanabe and produced by Studio Deen. The series started airing in Japan on April 06, 2007, and finished airing on June 29, 2007. The anime has the same opening and ending themes as the game Shining Tears. A sequel to this is a mobile game entitled Shining Wind X, which was released in January 2008.

Story

A group of students from St. Luminous College are investigating the mysterious disappearances that are happening all around Tatsumi Town. One student, who was researching a book entitled ‘End Earth’, which describes an alternate world, also mysteriously disappears. As Mao, a being from the other world, enters their world in order to look for her friend, Zero, she teams up with Souma and Kureha in order to battle a monster who also came to their world. Just when things seem to go their way, an accident teleports Souma and Kureha into another world. To make things more complicated, Zero appears to the two stating that he will now entrust the world to Souma. As they travel this new world, they encounter familiar friends and enemies, and they begin to realize that getting back to their own world is harder than they previously thought.

In End Earth, a war, surrounding a legendary item called “The Holy Grail“, begins. Zero later tells Souma that the world will end if Zeroboros, the guardian of time and space, awakens. This guardian will use whoever wins the war as a body.

Source: Wiki

The Opening Song of the Anime

After watching the anime I really want to get my hand on the English version of Shining Tears and Shining Wind, since the game require the understanding of the story and I can’t play it with a language I don’t know.  Sadly the English version for Shining Wind never came out, so if I really want to play I can only play the first game, Shining Tears.

Here is the Opening of Shinign Tears and Shining Wind.

The other Shining game I’m waiting for is Shining Force Feather for NDS which is coming out February 19 in Japan.  Probably need to wait for half a year till it got translated into English.

Some Videos of Shining Force Feather.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 12:59 am

    Shining series sucks other than for its character design. Like you I am really interested in one of the characters, notably Wind’s Blanc Neige. Tears was a year before Wind, where the first characters were introduced. Shining Tears X Wind, like Wiki said, is only based on Wind.

    Basically, if you finished the anime series, forget about playing the game, because you already know the story, just from Souma’s perspective. It failed horribly for me, the anime. It failed doubly hard after I realized it was basically a retelling of the game before I even played it.

    I only have Kotobukiya’s Mao, though I have both Koto’s and MF’s Blanc Neige and Elwing.

  2. February 12, 2009 5:48 am

    So muchX3,I think its time to watch it.

  3. December 7, 2010 2:00 pm

    Being that we already seem to be sharing factors regarding Shining Tears x Wind and The Shining Game Series; Mao My Secret Otaku LIfe, Gaming captures the imagination of the players and makes use of the senses: sight, sound, too as touch. Numerous have to have the use of intelligence as well as strategy. Complex graphics, colours, top quality virtual realities are all set to grab also as hold the attention of players. Multi-player gaming takes the interest towards the subsequent level -offers challenges also as new horizons to be conquered.

Leave a Reply

