Skip to content

Cafe for Amateur Dojin Creators

March 15, 2009

Was gonna post this yesterday but due to the lack of time…I didn’t, but here it is.

Apparently, on February 28 Akihabara open a Cafe that is like no other, the  Creator’s Cafe.

 The establishment is a café for amateur designers and manga artists. Equipment for producing amateur works like work desks and chairs, DTP-capable PCs, tracing tables, scanners, paper cutters and box cutters are provided, as well as free drinks. You can also make prints for a fee and there are drawing materials for sale.

I really wish something like this could open around my house, since I really need a place where I can draw peacefully with out the distraction from the parent going “what are you drawing? Ew~ why does she have such a huge boobs?”, stuff like that.

Talking about the café’s opening, an advertising official said, “We conducted interviews after hearing opinions like ‘I work on my art at family restaurants for a change of atmosphere’ and ‘It’s tough for me to maintain a place to work since I keep it secret from my family.’ We decided to open the café because of customer needs and the prospects we saw in this business environment. We hope it becomes a convenient place for people that draw manga.”

  The café charges 500 yen per hour to stay.

500 yen is about $5.10 USD.

Info from here

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 1:37 am

    T^T wow that must be a little slice of haven for artist. I cant draw without my parents watching me constantly…

  2. March 16, 2009 1:37 am

    That was until I moved out^^;

    • March 16, 2009 1:43 am

      lol, since i still live with them it cant be help…so…i need a cafe like that, LMAO

  3. March 16, 2009 7:48 am

    Ahaha, sounds like a cafe I’d go to… A lot 8D My parents disaprove my drawing style too 😄

  4. March 27, 2009 6:47 pm

    very nice article.
    check this click here

    see you

Leave a Reply

