Skip to content

2009-7-22 Asia Only Eclipse

July 21, 2009

If you read my twitter you would know that I have been busy taking picture of the eclipse since 9am this morning till 11am.  This is my first time seeing an eclipse, and it was just amazing.  Even though, because of the location, I was only be able to see the moon covering up 85% of the sun, it’s still a high light of my life (^_^)

The eclipse lasted around 2 hours from 8:30-10: 40 am.  Here are some photo that I promised to take.  It was pretty hard because of the sunlight, but I still managed to get these shot with a little help from an old camera film, cloud, and sun glasses.

The photos looks like it’s night time, but it’s actually morning.  The reason for this is because I used 1/4000 shutter speed, and F35 ( in other words, really low light ).  If I used anything else, the sunlight will just make everything else white, too bright to see.

Took these while the cloud was blocking some of the sun light.

Took these with a film in front of my 200mm lens.  That’s why the sun look red.

I took the following with a sun glasses blocking my lens, with some cloud blocking the sun as well.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 10:52 pm

    Thanks for the photos! Nice one! I was looking forward to experience it in Singapore this morning but it was raining and it’s not very prominent here.

  2. クリンソン ドリーム permalink
    July 22, 2009 3:33 am

    Over here in Malaysia, it was raining the whole day and clouds are everywhere. So I guess no eclipse for me.

    Great pictures!

  3. July 22, 2009 6:35 am

    too lazy to see the eclipse, even the weather is good here.

  4. July 22, 2009 9:57 am

    Singapore had lousy weather, I lawl’ed at the people who woke early to catch it.

    I watched China’s condensed coverage that they aired in a local channel here at night, at least you got to experience it live despite it being just 85% of the thing (Singapore would probably have gotten something around 10-15% coverage).

  5. July 22, 2009 2:54 pm

    great pics of the eclipse! i’ve yet to see my first >.<

Trackbacks

  1. Solar Eclipse in Asia 22 July 2009 « The Festival of Aoefe

Leave a Reply

