Skip to content

Final Fantasy XIII BEST MAP STYLE EVER! (or not…)

January 12, 2010

Do you hate getting lost in dungeons?  Have you ever stop playing a RPG cause you just don’t know where to go?

If any of those answer were “yea” than FF XIII is the game for you!

Final Fantasy XIII, the most anticipated RPG since…ever, has the most linear map design ever as well!! (>_<)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 1:18 am

    No offence, but I actualy “wished” for a dungeon like this back in D&D, nvr in FF…You may begin calling me douche now

    • January 17, 2010 4:25 am

      I actually don’t hate this map style. I have stop playing a lot of rpg cause i can’t find the right path so this would be perfect for me. Just some mindless monster fighting (^_^) wooh!

  2. January 20, 2010 1:57 pm

    Yeah, I half agree. If this is the beginning of the game, then fine, but FFXII (FF-12) was great because the dungeons and maps were branching, looping, doing everything. I loved the exploration and finding cool stuff. Just getting something automatically is boring. I swear, this game better rock.

    • January 20, 2010 7:10 pm

      I like the map a lot, even though I think people got the wrong impression of me from the way i wrote this post…I’m the kind of guy who have quite a game because I can’t find the right way through.

  3. 1d30 permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:07 am

    One thing I don’t like about CRPGs is this.

    On one hand, the linear map is boring to adventure through compared to a nonlinear map.

    On the other hand, a nonlinear map is painful because you backtrack through a lot of empty stuff you already cleared out, just killing random encounters. When you reach a boss fight or breakpoint where you can’t go back anymore (say, you’re transported out of the dungeon automatically), the rest of the dungeon options are cut off for you. In those fairly common cases you have to reload from your last save and explore the places you missed before hitting the “can’t go back” part.

    In a tabletop RPG these problems with nonlinear maps don’t apply. You can quickly just say “we go back through the serpent statue room, through the secret door at the base, and down the red hallway to the candle room” and the referee will roll one or two random encounters along the way. You don’t actually waste time retracing your steps in real time, the way you do in a video game. Also, just because you killed the boss doesn’t mean you can’t go back and check out the rest of the dungeon.

  4. January 26, 2011 11:00 pm

    MSI laptops feeling pretty decent, but I’m not too loving of the low res screens. I dont listen on a smaller format, but when you’re at 15″ or higher, I don’t think XGA and WXGA are the way to go.

Leave a Reply

