Skip to content

The Meaning of Bandwidth…

August 20, 2010

Up until today I thought “bandwidth” mean the number of image, measure in GB, I can upload each month, but after the warning later from photobucket I found out that I was wrong.

Since I didn’t really uploaded any large sums of photos this month unlike during July when the Comic Exhibition was happening, I find it weird how photobucket sent me another email saying “WARNING! You are almost exceeding this month’s bandwidth”.

In the end I did what everyone would’ve done if they were in my shoes, I went and googled the meaning of “bandwidth”.

(Wow do I feel stupid)

Long story short, I found out bandwidth have absolutely no connection with the number of image I upload, but the number of trafic I get on my photobucket account each month.  In other words, the more viewer I get on my blog (which is where I posts all my images) the more viewer is going to track back onto my photobucket account.

This causes problem for photobucket since I am a free account user, so in the end there are three solution I can try.

1. Pay.

2. Stop linking each image back to photobucket (meaning if you click on a image there won’t be a larger version anymore).

3. Create another account.

And of course the bandwidth refreshes each month on the 6th, but since my bandwidth kept getting used off before the 6th of every month I don’t really want my blog to be completely dead every time when the month (in photobucket time) comes close.

So~ after long consideration I decided to NOT since lets be honest, if I could pay I would do so already.  I also scratched off option number two since I think the reason why bandwidth is exceeding is because my viewer WANT larger versions of the photos I took/post.

In the end the reasonable decision is to make another account.  I will still be using my old account, just going to let it cool off awhile.

But the good thing about this is, this proves that my blog is getting more viewers! which is something to be happy about right? (^_^)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Alan Simpson permalink
    August 20, 2010 4:10 pm

    Apologies Hiroshi, I am one of the, “Evil Fiends, Devils Incarnate, Monsters from the ID, add your preference here”, new drains on your bandwidth.

    Big thank you to you for the heads-up for ” Sucker Punch”, I think you are, ” Doing it Right”, as they say. More power to your elbow.

    • August 21, 2010 12:00 am

      it’s okay, im using the new account right now, and for the rest of the month just in case. Welcome to My Secret Otaku Life btw~

      LOL

  2. August 21, 2010 2:33 am

    You’re using WordPress.com, why not just upload all of your images to your WordPress account? You get plenty of storage, and I’m not sure if there’s a bandwidth limit but I’ve never had any issues.

    • August 21, 2010 2:42 am

      but the amount of memory u get is a little….small for me

      • August 21, 2010 2:46 am

        According to that chart you posted you’re only getting 500MB from PhotoBucket. You get six times more than that (3GB) with a free WordPress.com account.

      • August 21, 2010 6:27 am

        yea, but you cant really sort it. Everything is just uploaded and done. I like to short my photos out so they are easy to find.

      • August 21, 2010 6:27 am

        nonetheless i guess i will start uploading to WordPress to try it out

Leave a Reply

