Skip to content

Atlus’ Catherine

August 23, 2010

I normally wouldn’t buy Famitsu that doesn’t have VOFAN’s art as cover on it, but because I want to know more about Atlus’ new game Catherine I bought this week’s issue.

There are still no info on the actually game play but Famitsu promised to include them in future issue.

As I mentioned in my other post, the story revolves around protagonist 32-year-old Vincent (Koichi Yamadera) who are not ambitious about work nor is he expecting much in relationships.  One night Vincent met a girl name Catherine (Miyuki Sawashiro), our 22 years old heroine, who had fun messing with him (no, I do not mean sex) for the rest of the night.  After meeting Catherine, Vincent starting having “Nightmares” which will affect his life.

In his Nightmares Vincent always visits a world with giant staircases that “never ends”, and if he doesn’t successfully climb up to the top floor then he will never wake up from his dream and die in the real world.

In Vincent’s dream he met a bunch of sheeps, who is probably like Vincent but died in the dream world, and they told him (in a creepy voice, mentioned in the magazine, hahahaha) that he is one of the “Chosen Sheep”.  Even though this is a dream Vincent do have a pair of goat horns.

In the Nightmare there are also other “Chosen Sheep” who like Vincent are trapped in the dream world.

In this world there are a pair of “giant demon hand” that will try to capture Vincent and the others, and if they get capture that person will die in the real world.

In the morning news a person died with its cause unknown.

After waking up from the Nightmare Vincent found Catherine laying next to him.  So does that mean they had….!?!?!?!?!  As Vincent try to figure out what happen someone starting knocking on Vincent’s door, which a woman later appeared.  After seeing Catherine on Vincent’s bed the women started yelling at Vincent.  Who is this woman then?

After reading the official Famitsu article on Catherine, I think most people are misunderstanding from what Atlus’ so-called “Adult” title.  What the Persona team probably meant is that this is their first work with an adult as the main protagonist and that it contains content that are not suitable for children, for example the pg-13 looking sex scene.  This game is most likely to be rated M for Mature, but not 18+.  Of course this is just personal thought and might be wrong but that is just what I think.

Via the whole article above, except my personal thought on the matter, is a direct translation by me from the Chinese translated Famitsu.

The Official Site just launched:  http://cathy.atlus.co.jp/

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:59 am

    I also caught this over at Sankaku Complex. Not my cup of tea and the sheep/rams just make it that more bizarre for me.

  2. Tom permalink
    August 23, 2010 2:05 pm

    First thank you very much for sharing your scans and translation with everyone about this game.

    Really thanks a lot.

    Could you answer these questions please:

    Where can I buy this copy of the famitsu magazine ?

    You said that was the chinese version, is that version official ? Does it come with a Catherine game poster like (it seems to be the case for) the japanese version ?

    Thank you.

    • August 23, 2010 2:33 pm

      You’re welcome, I had fun doing this post.

      I’m currently at Taiwan right now so I bought my magazine at the local 7-11.

      This issue did not came with the Catherine post like the Japanese Famitsu, which is ashamed since part of the reason why I bought it was for the info and the cheesy pizza poster. However sometime they will include it in another issue, I am not sure. I will keep my eyes out and will definitely post it here on my blog.

      • Tom permalink
        August 24, 2010 4:09 pm

        Ok thx

  3. August 30, 2010 1:18 pm

    You bring up a good point about the rating for the game. Atlus said they might be pushing the boundaries in terms of “adult content”.

    Some people are worried that the game might not hit North American shores if the contest is risque.

    Nonetheless, Catherine will be a very interesting game when it comes out.

  4. Thomas Daniel permalink
    September 16, 2010 3:05 pm

    This game is definately on my list of ‘what games I need to buy before I die’ and it’s pretty much the only one.

    One question, what issue number of Famitsu is this?

  5. December 3, 2010 8:47 pm

    woot, thank you! I’ve finally came across a website where the owner knows what they’re talking about. You know how many results are in Google when I check.. too many! It’s so annoying having to go from page after page after page, wasting my day away with tons of owners just copying eachother’s articles… ugh. Anyway, thankyou for the information anyway, much appreciated.

  6. Ninja permalink
    September 26, 2011 7:07 pm

    Here’s my take on Cathy and Kathy. In my opinion Cathy (with a C) seems like a ditz and free-spirited, and Kathy (with a K) seems more controlling and just plain weird ( meaning Deamon Kathy). That’s just an opinion of mine.

  7. Ninja permalink
    September 26, 2011 7:19 pm

    And who cares about ratings anymore, Cathy is just a game. But it’s more than that, it’s… awesome!!! And in my possibly 10 years of collecting anime and videogames have I ever seen a game as fluid if not above Zelda or Darksiders or if I might add, any puzzle game out there. Whether for console or other gaming device.

Leave a Reply

