Skip to content

My May Loot 2011

June 9, 2011

I have to say I spoiled myself quite a bit this month.  I bought two CDs, tons of DVDs, a Bluray, a few games, and a new game system.

Parachute’s Losing Sleep, and The Way It Was.

My friend, Alex, got me into this band not too long ago, and I have to say they are pretty good.  I usually don’t listen to too much American music but Parachute really brought me back into the western music industry.  Their music and lyric are beautiful AND meaningful, which I think it’s hard to find these days.

punk band from Charlottesville, Virginia.[1] The members graduated from college in May 2008 and since then have been touring and promoting their debut album Losing Sleep full-time. Fly Magazine defines Parachute’s sound as “blue-eyed soul, adult pop, Maroon 5-style faux-funk: it’s the Goldilocks of pop-rock, neither too hot nor too cold, but just right”.[2]

Via Wiki

Back during my March Loot post I started collecting Godzilla DVDs and heres some extra one to add into my collection.

All of the Godzilla film I have currently.

King Kong is a classic and when the tinbox edition is on sale for 10 bucks how can I not get it?

The new Predators movie on DVD.  The reason why I didn’t bought the Bluray is because I was kind of worry about the movie since AVP2 was done really poorly.

Got the Boondock Saints on DVD and the second one on Bluray, as well as the 28 Days Later on Bluray.

This I have to say is probably the most under appreciated movie ever.  The film is short (roughly 40 minutes), but one of the best musical comedy I have watched in awhile.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog is a 2008 musicaltragicomedyminiseries in three acts, produced exclusively for Internetdistribution. Filmed and set in Los Angeles, the show tells the story of Dr. Horrible, an aspiring supervillain; Captain Hammer, his nemesis; and Penny, their shared love interest.

The movie was written by writer/director Joss Whedon, his brothers Zack Whedon (a television writer) and Jed Whedon (a composer), and actress Maurissa Tancharoen. The team wrote the musical during the 2007–2008 Writers Guild of America strike. The idea was to create something small and inexpensive, yet professionally done, in a way that would circumvent the issues that were being protested during the strike.[1][2] On October 31, 2008, Time magazine named it #15 in Time’s Top 50 Inventions of 2008.[3][4] It also won the People’s Choice Award for “Favorite Online Sensation”, and the 2009 Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.[5] In the inaugural 2009 Streamy Awards for web television, Dr. Horrible won seven awards: Audience Choice Award for Best Web Series, Best Directing for a Comedy Web Series, Best Writing for a Comedy Web Series, Best Male Actor in a Comedy Web Series (Harris), Best Editing, Best Cinematography, and Best Original Music.[6] It also won a 2009Creative Arts Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Class – Short-format Live-Action Entertainment Programs.[7][8]

Via Wiki

Alex, the same guy who introduced me to Parachute, also talked me into buying a used GameCube.

The console was $30 which was pretty cheap, but the memory card, oh my god it was expensive…

Got 2 games with it since I would like to have something to play with.  Funny thing is I have only tried Godzilla for 20 minutes and I have to put it down cause  the control was really bad.  Definitely not a “good” buy.

Haven’t tried Metroid since I wasn’t in the mood.

Got Guilty Gear X2, and I tried it, didn’t like it.  I bought it because I heard it was by the same guys who did Blazblue, which is a game I absolutely adore.  However, I didn’t like it so what am I gonna do right?  Love Dizzy though.  She is amazingly cute. (>_<)

dizzy guilty_gear inoue_takumi queen's_gate underboob wings

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

